top of page

Meet the Fellows: Genna Burke (2015-16 school year)


"Being a fellow for the Foundry Makerspace has provided me the opportunity to not only develop as professional but as an advocate for social change. I was teacher for four years prior to joining the Foundry Makerspace team. It was disheartening to experience the difficulty in developing and preparing all students for life post high school or continuing education. Many districts, from inner city to rural, are facing barriers to student development such as a lack of resources, managing behavioral issues, and struggling to find community support.

The mission of the Foundry Makerspace brought back my hope for inner city education. On a small scale, I have witnessed the potential for student development and social change through partnerships. When a child feels supported within school and out in their community, it unleashes a powerful resiliency to succeed beyond their expectations. Gaining interpersonal, marketing, managerial, and prioritization skills through this fellowship has prepared me to lead a life of service within education or nonprofit work. I feel it is my responsibility to continue to be an advocate for students in building educational and communal support."


bottom of page